Skip to content ↓

Sylvia Young Theatre School

About


In partnership with parents, the Sylvia Young Theatre School aims to provide opportunities for its students that enable them to play an active and positive role as members of the school and the wider community.  Students have access to and experience of the curriculum regardless of race, class, gender or religious belief. The school promotes a sense of self-esteem, responsibility and tolerance. It values and challenges the individual so that they may achieve their highest levels of attainment.

The Sylvia Young Theatre School places great emphasis on high academic standards and on excellence in the performing arts.  Our aim is to develop the whole person as well as providing a unique opportunity for students with potential in the performing arts to train and to perfect their skills.  Expectations are high.

Our School provides a supportive atmosphere based on self-discipline, mutual respect, cooperation and understanding.  Students are encouraged to take responsibility both for their own learning and the environment in which they live.

Background

The school was established in 1981 in Drury Lane and in 1983 moved to a former 1880’s church school building in Marylebone. In July 2010, we moved to our new premises in Nutford Place, just off Seymour Place in W1. Our site houses two vocational floors with studios, rehearsal rooms, a recording studio, two academic floors and a large canteen with two courtyard gardens. 

The Headteacher is a member of, and the school is accredited by the Independent Schools Association [ISA]

Principal & School Chair of Directors  Mrs Sylvia Young OBE sylvia.young@syts.co.uk
Managing Director Miss Alison Ruffelle alison.ruffelle@syts.co.uk
Headteacher Ms Frances Chave frances.chave@syts.co.uk
Deputy Headteacher Mr. Kavanagh Mr.Kavanagh@syts.co.uk
Business Manager Mrs Maggie Melville maggie.melville@syts.co.uk
Artistic Director Mr Steven Baker steven.baker@syts.co.uk
Head of Music Mr Ray Lamb ray.lamb@syts.co.uk

School Directors

 

 

 

 

Mrs Sylvia Young
Miss Alison Ruffelle
Mr Michael Shelton
Mr Ray Lamb
Mr Steven Baker
Mr Peter Thornton

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All above may be contacted informally by telephone, or formally if required in writing:

Sylvia Young Theatre School
1 Nutford Place, 
London 
W1H 5YZ
020 7258 2330
info@syts.co.uk

The Sylvia Young Theatre School Ltd Registered N0: 1812483 Registered Office:
1 Nutford Place, London W1H 5YZ. Tel: 020 7258 2330

Find us at 1 Nutford Place, London, W1H 5YZ.